About Us

Our Leadership


Jennifer Brause, Founder and Executive Director

Karen Broughton, Director of Finance and Human Resources

Bailey Deacon, Director of Community Engagement 

JoAnn Goldberger, Director of Shelter Advancement

Dr. Bobbie Mammato, DVM, MPH, Director of Veterinary Medicine

Lisa Morabito, Director of Operations

Debra Rahl, Director of Special Projects


Matthew Fazzino, Assistant Director of Animal Care

Dana Hersl, Assistant Director of Veterinary Services

Melanie Snyder, Assistant Director of Lifesaving Programs


Taylor Lefebvre, Programs Manager

Erica Argraves-Yaw, Volunteer Manager

Josh Chance, Animal Care Manager

Grace Fellner, Community Cats Program Manager

Tami Gosheff, Donor Engagement and Corporate Partnerships Manager

Kenny Horman, Community Resource Manager

Claire Jensen, Executive Office Administrator

Katie Sullivan, Surgery Manager

Noelle Patterson, Special Events and Community Outreach Manager


Board of Directors


Chair: Alicia L. Shelton, Esq., Zuckerman Spaeder LLP

Past Chair: Kathy Harvey, Founder and President, Harvey Agency

Vice-Chair: Dr. Jay McDonnell, DACVIM, Veterinary Neurology and Imaging of the Chesapeake

Treasurer: Katherine Turner, Financial Software Consultant, Kaufman, Hall & Associates LLC

Secretary: Joe De Francis, Retired, former CEO of the Maryland Jockey Club  


Eric Bernthal, Retired attorney, Lantham & Watkins, former board chair, HSUS

Jennifer Brause, Founder and Executive Director, BARCS

Dr. Letitia Dzirasa, Baltimore City Health Commissioner

Don Rae, Partner of Saul, Ewing, Arnstein & Lehr, LLP

Janice Silvers, Retired

Julianne Tarver, Esq., Maryland Legal Aid